5% Off Your First Order! Use Code 'FIVE' at Checkout!

February 13, 2021

Vegan Sweets 101

With their bright colours, taste bud tingling flavour and array of shapes and sizes, it would be easy to assume that all sweets are suitable for vegans. After all, how can something so sweet contain any animal products?

In fact, you may be surprised to learn that many sweets actually have animal derivatives in their ingredient lists. For example, gelatine is used to create a gummy texture in chewy sweets such as jelly babies, drumstick lollies or gummy bears, whilst beeswax can be added to some sweet treats to give them a glossy shine, for example - Jelly Beans. Not to mention that some colourings actually contain ground up beetles, known as cochineal!

Therefore if you've recently become a vegan, or you're shopping for vegan sweets themed gifts for a loved one, ensure you double check the ingredients of the candies.

According to the Vegan Society, the number of vegans in the UK quadrupled between 2014 to 2019. This figure continues to rise, and as more and more people turn to a plant based diet the number of vegan sweets available on the market is soaring. So, with a bit of help, it's quite easy to discover vegan sweets which are suitable for those who follow a plant based diet. 

What sweets are vegan, we hear you ask... Take a look through this blog post to discover some of our favourite vegan friendly sweets - and why not try them for yourselves! 

Vegan Friendly Sweets

Jelly Tots - the Best Vegan Sweets

Beloved by both children and adults, the small, fruity, sugar coated gummies are vegan friendly so are perfect for any vegan with a sweet tooth.

There are five colourful flavours and are sure to satisfy any sweet tooth. Made with real fruit juice and natural flavourings, these fruity flavours and safe for everyone to enjoy.

Also made by Rowntrees, Fruit Pastilles are also vegan with no artificial colours!

Sherbet Lemons

A pick 'n' mix staple and many people favourite sweets, sherbet lemons offer a lemon taste with a sharp sherbet filling, and best of all, they don't contain any animal products, so these fruity sweets can be consumed even if you are living a vegan lifestyle, so you can still enjoy the tangy taste of this treat!


These tiny sweets pack a punch, and they are also completely gelatine free and vegan which is a bonus! With a range of flavours from bubblegum, watermelon and wild strawberry - you'll be able to get you sweet fix from these little sweets.

Refresher Bar - One of Our Favourite Vegan Sweets

This delicious classic is full of flavour, and even vegans can eat them - in fact, most of the Swizzles brand of sweets and candies are vegan friendly, including another retro favourite, Love Hearts and Swizzels Drumstick Chews. 


Tasting the rainbow has never felt so good... Skittles are accidentally vegan. Over a decade ago, gelatine was removed from these sweets and there are now suitable for vegans.

So Vegans rejoice as you can be safe in the knowledge that Skittles and their flavours contain no animal products and can still be enjoyed.

Candy Kittens  

From the outset, these gourmet sweets have always been vegetarian and use natural ingredients, but did you know that five of their flavours are completely vegan too? Including the Peach Fizz, Sour Watermelon and Blueberry Bliss.

The Conscious Candy Company

From lollipops and laces to pick 'n' mix favourites, this company's range is completely vegan friendly! 


This organic food retailer has its own range of delicious gummy sweets which are suitable for vegans. 

Flying Saucers

Everyone stay calm... Flying Saucers are vegan! This traditional British sweet that has been enjoyed for decades contain no ingredients derived from animals or animal products.

So the tangy fizzy sweet can still be enjoyed by everyone!

Sherbet Dip Dab

A bag of sherbet and a strawberry flavoured lolly, and it's vegan? What more could you want! Perfect as a sweet treat or part of a party bag - these sweets are sure to bring joy to both children and adults alike.

Strawberry Jawbreakers

With a hard candy outside and a bubblegum centre - these fruity treats are made to be enjoyed by everyone as they are vegetarian and vegan friendly as they contain no animal derived ingredients!

Grab some Strawberry Jawbreakers to get you sugar fix!

Double Lollies

Arguably one of the best lollies out there, anyone living a vegan lifestyle will be pleased to know Double Lollies are vegan!

With this yummy sweet treat - there are no animal products in sight!

Vimto Chew Bars

Enjoyed as a vegan sweet by many, Vimto Chew Bars are a packed with flavour and the perfect way for anyone with vegan dietary restrictions to enjoy a sweet treat.

Starburst (Along Known as Opal Fruits)

In the UK, Starburst (formerly known as Opal Fruits) typically do not contain gelatin, which is a common animal-derived ingredient found in some candies. However, Starburst may contain other ingredients like palm oil, which some vegans avoid due to concerns about its environmental impact.

Are Vegan Sweets Gluten Free?

Vegan sweets, in general, can be gluten free, but it ultimately depends on the specific ingredients used in their production. Many vegan sweets are made without animal-derived ingredients such as gelatin, milk, or honey, but they may still contain gluten-containing grains like wheat, barley, or rye.

To determine if a vegan sweet is also gluten-free, you'll need to carefully check the ingredients list and any allergen information provided on the packaging. Some manufacturers may label their products as gluten-free if they are suitable for individuals with gluten sensitivities or celiac disease.

Ingredients To Watch Out For

And if your favourite isn't listed here, the below list provides a breakdown of some ingredients to look out for:

  • Gelatine (E441)

  • Milk and milk derivatives, like: butter, whey and sodium caseinate (E469)

  • Beeswax (E901)

  • Shellac (E904)

  • Carmine (E120)

All these sweets listed in this article are available in most food retailers and supermarkets, so you shouldn’t struggle to find them. You can also find some of these sweets in our vegan sweet hamper and gift collections. 

Check out our range of vegan friendly sweet hampers, vegan sweet boxes and more here.

Also in News

Why You Need To Make Sleep A Priority
Why You Need To Make Sleep A Priority

February 25, 2024

Continue Reading

Unique Tea Blends you have to try!
Unique Tea Blends you have to try!

February 16, 2024

Continue Reading

Valentine's Gifts for him Ideas

February 07, 2024

Continue Reading